Dean O'Brien's Blog

My current read……

leave a comment »

Anybody that knows me knows that I am a real book junkie.  I bought seventeen last week and thanks to Ikea they all have somewhere to live!  My current read is ‘What Matters’ by David Elliott Cohen.   ‘The worlds’ preeminent photojournalists and thinkers depict essential issues of our time’. Cohen asked the foremost writers, thinkers and experts in their fields to look at issues raised by the photographs.  Its probably the most interesting book that I have read this year and like many others is making me look at the world in a very different way.  Issues being raised in the book include Global Jihad, Chernobyl, Global Warming and Child Labor in Bangladesh.  These are all current issues which are well worth looking at.  Of all the topics discussed in the book I was mostly drawn to the tragedy of Chernobyl.  As I am going to the Ukraine in 2010, Chernobyl is on my ‘to do’ list and a subject which I long to learn more about.

The book is available from Amazon for £10.96 (hardback) and probably the best tenner you will spend this year.

Written by Dean O'Brien

December 18, 2009 at 8:58 pm

Posted in Reviews

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

