Dean O'Brien's Blog

151MC Creative Digital Practice: CD Project

with one comment

For part of my 151MC module I had been set the task of producing three cd covers.  The main inspiration for the covers needed to be based around three art movements.  I had recently completed research on Pop Art, Cubism, Surrealism and Minimalism.  I decide on Pop Art, Minimalism and Surrealism.  This gave me plenty of variety when planning the covers and the different type of photography needed for each cover.  I needed  to take into account that the cd’s would need images to the front and rear.  I also needed to take into account where to locate text, tracks, barcodes and relevant copyright text.  I decided to take scans of the original barcodes from each of the selected cd’s to give a more authentic feel.  I also had to consider the target audience for the cd’s as they need to be appealing to them.  Text plays an important part so I carefully considered suitable text for each cd.  The cd’s are now ready to present for marking.  Looking at them there is nothing that I want to change.  They look exactly like real album covers and I am more than pleased with the finished products.

I feel that I am benefitting from Paul Smith’s photoshop knowledge and have started to experiment more with my own images at home.  I feel that this will be the key to me developing in the future.  It has been pointed out that I concentrate far too much on the technical side of things and need to be more free and creative.  Once I find a good balance between these two things I will have it cracked.

Written by Dean O'Brien

February 5, 2010 at 11:18 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello, Dean love the album covers. When you write that you concentrate on too much of the techinical side was that because
    like myself you worry about being downgraded in marks for technical errors like focus and lighting? I also think the desire to be technical perfect is to do with confidence and proving that we are clever and have a skill just like anyone else. Am I making sense?

    Chris Alford

    January 19, 2011 at 11:38 pm


Leave a Reply

