Dean O'Brien's Blog

151MC Creative Digital Practice: Assignment 1 BA (Hons) Photography @ Coventry University

with 2 comments

As you might be aware from an earlier post a little further down, I am in the process of creating six images inspired by minimalism.  The original plan was to take my set of coloured Arne Jacobsen chairs to various locations and photograph them with different textured backgrounds.  There was however the issue of getting both the chair and background sharp in the image. This task does require that I use photoshop in some way on my images so I decided to photograph the chair and background separately and merge them using photoshop.  Also, it saved me the hassle of driving around with a car full of chairs.

After spending a few days doing research I then headed out to take my images.  Its surprising how many interesting textures are around you once you start looking for them.  Empty industrial units not far from me provided plenty of material.  I am pleased with the six images below although I will be taking them into University on Monday to get a final opinion.  The final selected images will be printed on A3 photo paper then mounted onto card.

This assignment has enabled me to become more familiar with Photoshop and its many functions.  Welcome to the digital darkroom!

Written by Dean O'Brien

February 19, 2010 at 7:21 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. When you used photoshop did you work it out for yourself or seek help from other students or did you learn lessons on photoshop from the lecturers?

    Chris Alford

    January 19, 2011 at 11:27 pm

  2. I knew a little but the lecturers are helpful and taught the rest.

    Dean O'Brien

    January 19, 2011 at 11:38 pm


Leave a Reply

