Dean O'Brien's Blog

151MC Creative Digital Practice: Assignment 1 BA (Hons) Photography @ Coventry University – Final Images

with one comment

Well this assignment has been a positive gradual progression. The six images in my post below have all been changed – Some slightly and some totally. Throughout this assignment I thought carefully about my images and what they lacked. It was recommended that I look at the work of Bridget Riley for inspiration. It worked. Looking at the work of Bridget Riley was what I needed to see where I was going wrong with my images. Although they were minimalist they were still too fussy. A little too much going on, whether it be with the chair intruding into the image too much or the backgrounds containing too much visually. I’m not afraid of constructive criticism and it is something which I search for when I approach my lecturers with my ideas and images. Have a look at them below and feel free to compare them with the previous six….

Presentation wise I was going to get the images printed on 16×12 photo paper (via DS Colour Labs) and then mount them in a traditional way on mounting board. Instead I sought the advice of Paul Smith who recommended that I try out the Print Bureau at the Uni. So after a trip to the Print Bureau and a chat with David I decided to have the images printed and laminated onto 3mm high density board in 16″x12″. They look amazing.

One of my major faults is that I like routine too much. I seem reluctant to try new things. This has to change if I am ever going to grow and improve my work. This has already been pointed out to me by my other lecturers in previous assignments so it is something which I am working on. Change can be a good thing sometimes as this assignment has shown.

Written by Dean O'Brien

March 3, 2010 at 10:05 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello Dean, I’ve looked at the Op Art of Bridget Riley.
    She was a brilliant painter. I already have some ideas
    for my own photographic projects expanding on the work of Bridget Riley.

    I finally understand reading this why in photography courses they make you look at painting and sculptures.

    When I went to an open day at Wolverhampton University I was told the technician at their Print Bureau would talk you through
    how you wanted your work printed making sure there was no errors in color management.

    I’m curious as to what the high density board looks like.

    Chris Alford

    January 19, 2011 at 11:23 pm


Leave a Reply

