Dean O'Brien's Blog

A day out in Wales paired up with another photographer..

with 2 comments

I have been taking photographs for years…In all that time I have never hit the streets with another photographer to take images.  Its not something deliberate, just something that has never happened.  Maybe its because I have always viewed capturing images as a solo act.  Something done by ones self.  Like most things though, this obviously has its advantages and disadvantages.  Most of the information which we know, we get from another source.

I receive a phone call late one evening from Rick Medlock.  Rick is a 3rd year at Coventry University on the same course as me.  He asked if I was interested in heading over to the coast with him on Sunday.  There was nothing to lose and everything to gain.  This was going to be an ideal opportunity to watch someone else and the techniques they use for their image making.  A fresh set of eyes looking at something can be a godsend.  I think the worst thing that any photographer can do is see things in a ‘set’ way.  We all need to open our minds and vision.  Note to self…Please remember what you have just written!

Once we got to Barmouth in Wales it was a case of looking for interesting things.  It was a little bit odd wandering around a council estate with beautiful mountains in the background.  Throughout the day we photographed everything from bins and doors to people sitting on walls.  It was interesting to see how we both shot the same thing but in different ways.  This took me back to stuff which I was taught earlier in the year at University.  We all see things differently and here I was witnessing it for myself.  We were both looking at the same thing and pre-visualising how it would appear afterwards.  It was great to compare the images afterwards, discuss composition and why we chose to shoot the image as we did.  What was the reasoning behind it and did it work?

All in all, it was a great day and an even greater experience.  I came home feeling that I was one step nearer to reaching my goal.  That goal of becoming a more open minded image maker.

Written by Dean O'Brien

August 17, 2010 at 9:13 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes Dean I agree wholeheartedly with your comments. Learning and looking at images and writings in a book is one thing, but actually going out and doing it is another. The great thing about doing it this way, ie. in pairs just photographing watching and talking as you do it gives you so much more advantage and stimulus and a steep learning curve in a short time. The other reason to do this is to get oneself out of the comfort zone and hopefully break old habits and learn new ones.

    I look forward to the next one. You choose the next location and see how I match up to the challenge.

    Regards Rick

    rick medlock

    August 17, 2010 at 9:26 am

  2. When I first saw this I thought it was photshopped because of the contrast between nature and urban but it is not.

    I paired up too with a photographer who was a professional back in November 2009 in Scotland.
    His name was Paul Walker. He opened my eyes and
    realise great photography is everywhere, not just
    places like London and New York.

    Chris Alford

    January 9, 2011 at 10:27 pm


Leave a Reply

