Dean O'Brien's Blog

Photography Exhibition by Joanna Ornowska at Glass Box Gallery, Coventry

with 3 comments

Today I decided to visit an exhibition being held by one of the third year students at Coventry University, Joanna Ornowska.  I have always admired the work of  Joanna since I first came across it whilst doing my course.  Hard working and enthusiastic, Joanna shows real passion for photography which is visible in her images. I managed to catch up with Joanna last month whilst on a Foto8 course at Host Gallery in London and find out more about her work. It was here that she told me about her forthcoming exhibition in Coventry.

At this exhibition, Joanna has on display her images from her forthcoming book which document her overcoming an illness.  Shot very much in an Elinor Carucci style these images contain real emotion and feeling.  I also feel hints of Nan Goldin when looking at some of these as well. A very sensitive narrative lay behind this project and it will be great to see them in the book when it is finally published.

Also on display were a large selection of images which Joanna had taken of people walking in the Welsh mountains.  This was a project which Joanna had recently completed.  Beneath many of the images were a few paragraphs which the people had decided to reveal about themselves.  Many were about how the couples had met and how they live their lives.  Inspirational stuff.  It made me think about how little we know about people who simply pass us by everyday.

I have this Gallery booked myself next year along with another student.  As well as holding an exhibition, I want to use this as a platform to promote my book which should be published at the same time.  As photographers I feel that only by doing things such as this can we get ourselves the exposure that we need to the masses.

Written by Dean O'Brien

August 20, 2010 at 8:04 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree. A hard working girl who needs the break. Hang on, so do you and me. LOL 🙂

    rick medlock

    August 20, 2010 at 8:06 pm

  2. Hello I’ve just looked at the website of
    Joanna Ornowska. She is very talented!
    I see some prints from her ‘Awake’ series
    where I work at Walsgrave Hospital.
    Her images will stand the test of time.

    Regarding your exhibition next year I just read an
    audio by Jonathon Worth at: http://soundcloud.com/jonathanworth/harry-host-gallery

    He talks about the importance of getting the right people to see your photography. Are you hoping to get people from the professional photography community to view your prints?
    I would love to see your photos on display do you know when they will be exhibited?

    Chris Alford

    January 22, 2011 at 5:17 pm

  3. Yes the exhibition details are on my website http://www.deanobrien.co.uk

    Dean O'Brien

    January 22, 2011 at 5:19 pm


Leave a Reply

