Dean O'Brien's Blog

Improving my practice with podcasts

with 2 comments

I may sound like a horse running last in the race, but I have only just cottoned on to this podcast lark.  I had heard about podcasts but sort of figured that they just weren’t for me.  I mean, when you have got over 600 albums on your ipod why on earth would you want to listen to someone ranting on about ‘Raw files versus jpeg’?  The answer is simple.  After a while you get bored of listening to music.  Its the same for the radio.  I can’t be doing with listening to the Top 40 or Radio 1 anymore.  Too much rapping about bitches, whores, cars and money put pay to that.  I got onto the Radio 2 bandwagon and much preferred a bit of a Jeremy Vine debate combined with a bit of Kate Bush in between.  Yes, its a lot more relaxing on the ears.

The problem with trying to learn about photography is that there is just so much information to take in.  We need to know about the technical side of things, art, the history, famous photographers, exhibitions not to mention the practical side such as shutter speeds, apertures, blah blah blah..the list goes on and on.  I, like most people can only spend so much time in front of a computer screen, book or magazine.  A great way of feeding yourself information is through a podcast.  There are hundreds available for free through itunes.  I have to admit, many are for beginners but you can pick and choose whats for you.  I just subscribe to the podcasts which are relevant to me and what I am trying to understand at that time.

I recently listened to a Professional Photographer podcast which featured Peter Dench, Grant Scott and Eleanor O’Kane discussing the 25 bad boys of photography.  Very educational, amusing, light hearted and relaxing.  I could compare it to a decent conversation around a pub table.  People engaging with each other, laughing and getting their opinions across.  The fact that the podcast contained this kind of atmosphere made the information very easy to absorb.  Yes, it was a big change from how I normally absorb information, but it was a welcome change all the same.  Like choosing which form of media we choose to record an image so we should be able to select how we receive information.

The fact is this.  Photography like many other practices is changing.  We all need to be prepared to move with the times or be left behind.

Written by Dean O'Brien

August 26, 2010 at 1:16 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello, my name is Chris. I agree there is so much to learn about photography, which after just finished paying for my very expensive Mac Pro leaves me no money for any camera equipment I will devote to learning as much about software, Macs, podcasts and social media and how this is changing photography.

    I’ve just finished reading a book called iwork09 which metions podcast. I’ve paid £80.00 for an one to one tution for a year to learn about the benefits of such things.

    I tried to get into Cov Uni last year but didn’t get an interview. I will try next year. I like the photo of the girl listening to the ipod, very funny. I also read the blog of Harpreet Khara.

    Chris Alford

    September 1, 2010 at 9:58 pm

  2. Hi Chris.

    Thanks for replying to my post. Yes photography is changing at an ever increasing rate and there is so much to learn.

    A wise choice buying a Mac Pro and a worthy investment.

    Try not to get too bogged down with the latest equipment though if you can help it. Its a very easy trap to fall into. I speak from experience. Many of todays great images are taken on very basic cameras. I still think some of my best film images were taken on a Pentax K1000 35mm camera. They are fully manual and the skills which you learn operating one are easily transferred to using a digital SLR when you decide to make the move (if you do) Many are still comfortable shooting with film.

    The podcasts form part of social media and one of the biggest attractions is that they are free for everyone. Get yourself active on twitter as well (if you are not already) as you will find that a great help also.

    Photography courses are very hard to get onto and Cov Uni is no exception. Try to read and just learn as much as you can. Above all get a cheap camera and go out and start shooting some pictures. If you do get an interview at Cov Uni you will not be judged on the equipment that you use or own so try and remember that. Hope this helps you.

    I’m glad you like the image for the blog post. It was just a quick shot the came into my head to go with the post.

    Dean O'Brien

    September 1, 2010 at 10:27 pm


Leave a Reply

