Dean O'Brien's Blog

Keeping busy…

with one comment

Well I thought that I would just keep you all filled in with what I have been up to lately.  Today I returned to a children’s home where I spent most of my childhood.  It has been closed for a good few years now but contains many memories for me.  I cannot gain access to the inside of the premises even though I did ask.  I had to grab what memories I could from the exterior of the building.  Although the paint is peeling and the windows broken I still managed to capture some permanent memories.  These are going to be used for a project which I have already started and am continuing to build on.

I shot the images using a Polaplus back attached to a Hasselblad 503CW.  It produces a colour positive image measuring Just over 2 inches square.  Once I had taken the shots with the camera I then had to wait for the images to develop and then dry.  As it was a hot day I lay the images out across the back seat of my car to finish off drying.

A selection of these images will be posted on here within the next few weeks and I hope this project will evolve into a self published book.

Written by Dean O'Brien

September 1, 2010 at 8:36 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think people looking at this project might have a different interpretation than you about what you are trying to convey? Something might get lost in translation between the meaning/feelings the viewers have who are detached and between your meaning/feelings in what is obviously a very personal project.

    Chris Alford

    January 20, 2011 at 12:14 am


Leave a Reply

