Dean O'Brien's Blog

A Story is Born: The Photo Story Seminar Host Gallery, London October 1st & 2nd 2010

with 3 comments

This was to be the second seminar which I had attended at the Host Gallery with the past few months.  When ‘A Story is Born’ was announced I immediately signed up.

Five guest speakers were there.  All of whom managed to inspire and educate those in attendance.  They included Neil Burgess, David Hurn, Olivia Arthur, Joakim Eskildsen and Simon Norfolk.

Whilst at Host Gallery I had the chance to admire Tim Hetherington’s latest body of work ‘Infidel’.  I had already received the book as I had pre-ordered it via Amazon a couple of months earlier.  However it was great to see the images displayed full size.

Seminars such as this are a great opportunity to network with other photographers and creative artists in the industry.  It was also a great chance to meet up with many of my cyber followers on twitter.

Written by Dean O'Brien

October 7, 2010 at 8:57 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Do you think the talk helped you with your own photographic practice to advance?

    What was it like meeting your cyber followers?
    Were they other photography students?
    Sound very interesting.

    Chris Alford

    January 9, 2011 at 11:21 pm

  2. It was worth going to Chris definitely.

    Meeting people who I know from twitter was great. Like minded, individuals who are keen to share ideas and information. Yes a few were other photography students.

    Sorry that I cant reply to all your comments. I’m really busy now in my second year at uni so need to get my head down. Thanks for the comments though.

    Dean O'Brien

    January 9, 2011 at 11:26 pm

  3. Hello Dean just looked at all the images on tim hetherington’s
    website. They are so powerful but free of cheap sensationalism!
    Great photographer. I would buy his books if I had the money now!

    Chris Alford

    January 22, 2011 at 4:36 pm


Leave a Reply

