Dean O'Brien's Blog

Anesis Outreach: I’m with them for the long haul

with 4 comments

As many may be aware, most Sundays I can be found on the streets with Anesis Outreach feeding the homeless.  It started off as a great way to interact with people whilst improving my photography skills.

Loaves of bread and hot drinks are handed out every Sunday under a subway in Coventry city centre.  Homeless men and women come from all over the city.  Sometimes this is soul destroying to witness.  Peoples lives being destroyed through alcohol and drug abuse.  I feel that by doing a photography project with Anesis then I can do my little bit towards getting the situation highlighted.  Its not all doom and gloom though.  There are stories of success which I intend to document as well.

This project will continue long after I have left University.  Yes, I’m with them for the long haul….


Written by Dean O'Brien

October 16, 2010 at 4:02 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. We continue to reach out to the heart and souls of lost people, hoping that our very aknowledgement of their existance will give them an understanding of how much they matter to God. Having you on board is an opportunity to document this fact. God bless you Dean, and thank you for your support !!!!

    Kervin Julien

    October 17, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    • Its a pleasure to be working with you, Anesis and the people you reach.

      Dean O'Brien

      October 17, 2010 at 7:42 pm

      • Hi Dean just came across your blog after watching secret millionaire,I look forward to reading your blog,we are too judgemental in this world,I would like to do some voluntary work myself,I am a short breaks carer but would like to give something back to my community I live in Birmingham.The programme opened my eyes in many ways.My daughter is studying photography and will be doing her A2 in September.Becky

        becky

        May 30, 2011 at 9:46 pm

      • Thanks for the comment Becky. I found volunteering to be a fantastic, fulfilling experience.

        Dean O'Brien

        May 30, 2011 at 10:59 pm


Leave a Reply

