Dean O'Brien's Blog

Tim Flach: Animal photography as you have never seen it before..

with 2 comments

Im’ not really into animal photography as such.  Well that was until I came across the work of a certain Tim Flach.  Tim takes the most amazing images of dogs and horses that I have ever seen.  His subjects have including everything from monkeys to parrots.  He seems to have gone against the accepted portrait of animals and shoot with his own unique view.  Close up details on the body allow the viewer to see these creatures in a totally different way.  He often shoots his subjects at strange angles to gain more engagement from the viewer.  Tim states ‘I’m fascinated by how we interpret and humanize images of animals’.

As per usual, to feed my book addiction I felt it only right to get hold of both of Tim’s books.  Dogs Gods and Equus.  Both books contain the most amazing images.  In fact, Tim’s images have twice appeared on Royal mail stamps.   This has made me question yet again my own photographic practice.  I need to start to look at my own subjects in a different, more creative way.

I have a big fat tabby cat at home so I may well try some of the old ‘Flach magic’ on him myself.  Mind you, all we do here in Coventry is put cats in bins.

You can see more of the excellent work of Tim Flach here www.timflach.com


Written by Dean O'Brien

October 21, 2010 at 9:10 am

Posted in Inspiration

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There are now 2 photographers of dog I admire.
    Paul Walker and now Tim flach. I can see 2 flash
    with umbrellas in one of them a black dog.
    I want to pay off my lenses as soon as possible
    so I can buy studio lights and try this with my
    18yr old Dog called Mutley.

    Chris Alford

    October 21, 2010 at 2:16 pm

  2. I got his book on dogs for xmas. very talented.

    Chris Alford

    January 9, 2011 at 9:45 pm


Leave a Reply

