Dean O'Brien's Blog

CW1 Research: A visit to Tate Britain starts to change my perspective..

with 3 comments

Well on Tuesday I managed top make another trip to London.  This time I went to Tate Britain to see the ‘Romantics’ exhibition. Yes, romance is in the air indeed.  I have found myself looking more and more at paintings recently, so this could not have come at a better time.  I want to establish a greater understanding of portraits so I feel that by looking more at paintings then this could be a great place to start.

A major new nine-room display presents Romantic art in Britain, its origins, inspirations and legacies. Drawn from Tate’s collection, it showcases major works by Henry Fuseli, JMW Turner, John Constable and Samuel Palmer, as well as newly-acquired works by William Blake.  The exhibition runs from 9 August 2010  –  31 July 2011 so get yourself along if you want to put a different perspective on things.

Below is an image which I was truly amazed at.  ‘Chatterton’ by Henry Wallis 1856 (oil on canvas).  A truly remarkable piece of work and ever better when seen in the flesh.  I found myself wondering about the image, the narrative and the elements contained with it.  A fine piece indeed.

Written by Dean O'Brien

November 4, 2010 at 10:19 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What, an old cynic like you becoming romantic. What is the world coming to?

    rick medlock

    November 5, 2010 at 11:08 am

  2. Very worthwhile taking time to appreciate the masters and panting in general. My knowledge of fine art is pathetic and I should really make more of an effort to educate myself which in turn could well inform my photography.
    Did you see that recent tv show on the self portrait?

    david procter

    November 14, 2010 at 9:31 pm

  3. No sorry david I missed that.

    Dean O'Brien

    November 14, 2010 at 9:39 pm


Leave a Reply

