Dean O'Brien's Blog

A201CSU: Volunteering in the Community…My first day at The Salvation Army

with one comment

As part of my advantage module for this year I have decided to volunteer in the community.  For the past six months I have been helping to feed the homeless in Coventry city centre every Sunday with Anesis Outreach.  The organiser Kervin Julien is a key worker at the Salvation Army so this was a great opportunity to expand on the work which I was already doing.  I also get to use my photography skills which I hope they will benefit from.  I will be acting as a support worker at the Salvation Army in Coventry.

They are in the process of having a brand new building built only a short distance away.  They want the move documenting and I will be helping out by taking the images of the move.  I also intend to document day to day life at The Salvation Army so the images made here will be used in a variety of different projects.

Well I have now started working there and its a real mixed bag of emotions.  I was given a tour of the whole building which ranged from the kitchens to rooms which are used for counselling.  Living at The Salvation Army does have a stigma attached to it so I am hoping that through my images I can create a clearer picture of what goes on here.  Only by doing this will people on the outside have a greater understanding.

Written by Dean O'Brien

November 16, 2010 at 9:51 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m a support worker too but at Walsgrave Hospital.
    Have been for the last 3 yrs. It certainly teaches me humility and modest, something I think others could learn from. The Anesis Outreach would certainly teach anyone humility and modest!

    Chris Alford

    January 24, 2011 at 1:55 pm


Leave a Reply

