Dean O'Brien's Blog

CW1: Lighting experimentation in the studio

with one comment

After my first fashion shoot which I did earlier this term involving clothing from the fashion department I was initially pleased with the outcome.  It was however pointed out that the lighting set-up which I used was very even. Almost a bit bland I suppose.  Giving the images an almost ‘flat’ appearance.  Whilst great if the images were being used on websites etc.. they did lack a certain something.

I was advised to experiment more with lighting and maybe just shoot using one possibly with a snoot.  This was not as easy as it sounded.  The snoot was throwing a harsh shadow onto the backdrop behind as it hit the subject.  Where the snoot was positioned played a vital role in where the shadows fell on the subject.  With some subtle adjustments I eventually got close to a set up that I was happy with.  The images taken at this shoot will be narrowed down and used as my finals for this assignment.  Only through trial and error could this have been achieved though.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Written by Dean O'Brien

November 29, 2010 at 3:02 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I would love to learn studio lighting but I’m still paying off for the six lenses I brought! I like the behind the scenes photos. I hope you do some more behind the scenes photos again.

    Chris Alford

    January 23, 2011 at 3:31 pm


Leave a Reply

