Dean O'Brien's Blog

CW1 Research for my practical assignment…Erwin Olaf

leave a comment »

Research into doing my photo shoot has had to come from various sources.  Books seem to still be the main place where I draw my ideas from.  Although much information is readily available on-line I still love to stare at an image on a page.  For me it has a different feeling.  Probably as many would argue about the differences between the sound of a cd compared to vinyl.  Or the difference between digital and film.  Its an acquired taste.

I have long admired the work of Erwin Olaf .  The almost ‘doll like’ faces on his subjects has always been a great attraction to me.  My shoot was not going to be based around this but I was going to try and capture a certain ‘look’.  No smiles and not necessarily staring into the camera.  I want to look more at the body language of people within a portrait.  Even the slightest movement of the eyes or mouth can have a dramatic impact on a portrait.  My shoot will explore this further.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Written by Dean O'Brien

November 29, 2010 at 2:27 am

Leave a Reply

