Dean O'Brien's Blog

CW1 Research: The work of Miles Aldridge

leave a comment »

If there is one photographer who has influenced me more than anyone to attempt to create a superb portrait it is Miles Aldridge.  Like the work of Erwin Olaf, Aldridge’s subjects often have a vacant, almost lost gaze upon their face.  Where Aldridge’s work differs compared to that of Erwin Olaf is with the use of colour.  Olaf tends to use a very muted colour range where Aldridge relies upon the use of very heavily saturated colours.  Although many of Aldridge’s subjects seem almost in a state of shock, the use of colour helps to bring life to the images.

One things is for sure.  They do get the viewer to question what is happening within the image. This is something which I need to think more about when I am planning my projects.  My images need to fit together as a well formed body of work.  Linked by a narrative.

The practical shoot which I am  doing for this module has been well thought out and planned.  Thorough research has been vital in getting to the stage where I am and I know this will be visible in the images which I produce.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Written by Dean O'Brien

November 29, 2010 at 3:21 am

Leave a Reply

