Dean O'Brien's Blog

CW1: First book published

leave a comment »

Its no secret that I am a big fan of the self published book market.  This is an area that many photographers are exploiting to get their work out there to the masses.  A permanent advert for you and your work.  I attended the ‘From Dummy to Genius’ seminar at Host Gallery in London (Here) earlier in the year and came back more convinced than ever that a self published book was the path to follow.

As I was coming to the end of my first term module at University I was looking at how I was going to present my work.  I wanted the images to be presented in a book.  A book without words.  This is because the images contained within it are all about the elements of a portrait and how we read them.  The slightest movement of the eyes, mouth or hands can change how we interpret what we see.  No words are necessary.  Our eyes are telling us all we need to know.  We observe and then make our judgement.  As each page turns and changes, so does the subject before your eyes.

This book was not published as a money making venture.  It was a great way in which to present my body of work at the end of this module.  A great learning curve.

So without any further ranting….Let me present to you…. Pictures Without Words

Written by Dean O'Brien

December 2, 2010 at 10:13 pm

Leave a Reply

