Dean O'Brien's Blog

CW1: Project Evaluation

with 2 comments

This first module of the year has been a real eye opener for me.  Technically, academically and creatively.  It has pushed me in all areas.

As was pointed on to me early on in the module, I needed to experiment more with light.  Not ‘more’ lights, but just one or two.  I took this on board and experimented with lighting in the studio.  I started off with just one then two.  I also started to use poly reflector boards as they are an item which I had rarely used before.  Although my first shoot of Louisa had what I would class as more stronger visual impact which was too distracting it was a great experience none the less and opened my eyes to what I wanted from this body of work.  I decided to use Melissa who has a more placid look.

On reflection what would I change?  Well this was a starting point.  A starting point for me to understand facial expressions more along with body language and lighting.  The slightest movement in the subjects hands, eyes or mouth can alter the way that we view them.  Any portraits which I take in the future will take all of this into account.  The lighting will also play a major part in any images which I create in the future.  Using Lighroom3 to develop and edit the images is a skill which I am slowly learning to master and will continue to do so.

As for the the finished product, which was a book.  Well I ordered two from two different sources as I was curious as to how they would differ.  One from Apple (made on a mac) and one from Blurb.  The Apple product is superior in terms of feel, quality and overall finish.  The Blurb had wafer thin paper and had a cheap feel.  However, where Blurb succeed is that they offer print-on-demand and an online preview.  They take care of the marketing side when you produce the book.  So for a one-off book it has to be Apple.  For something to be sold to the masses then its Blurb.

Where do I intend to go from here?  I intend to concentrate on my portrait work and look further into the actual images which I make.  To look more at the person, into the person and not just look at the face.  I also intend to look more into the book publishing side of things and develop a deeper knowledge within this field.

Written by Dean O'Brien

December 8, 2010 at 3:40 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Are poly reflector boards hard to come by?
    Where did you order them from?
    I went into the apple store in Birmingham and I agree the quality of the book is superb.
    Do you pay for the models or do you agree prints for time? I wonder this as I think models would agree for this more if you’re a student than just another amateur like myself.

    Chris Alford

    January 23, 2011 at 2:31 pm

  2. You cant buy poly reflector boards as such. They are polystyrene boards purchased from a Builders merchants and then painted.
    I normally shoot models on a ‘time for cd’ basis.

    Dean O'Brien

    January 23, 2011 at 8:15 pm


Leave a Reply

