Dean O'Brien's Blog

Picturing the Body Task 1: Negotiation

with one comment

This week as part of my #Picbod module I was asked to photograph a stranger.  I approached a guy called Mick who does picture framing about a unit in Earlsdon.  I engaged him in light conversation before I convinced him to have a few images taken.  I told him to just carry on with whatever he was doing and managed to capture a few shots which were not the usual ‘posed’ images which are maybe associated with taking a portrait as such.

Although the image taken is not what anyone would class as great I gained a great deal of experience from doing this.  The engagement in conversation and the overall act of close communication used skills that were not what one would normally associate with the art of photography.  Taking a portrait takes more than just the knowledge of using a camera.  Its about people skills and revealing something about the subject within the image.

Technically I looked at where the light was coming from which was a window to the left of the image and behind the subject.  I then waited till the light looked fairly even or as good as I could get it to take the shot.  I am not afraid of approaching people to take their image but there is a certain skill to it so to speak.  People skills such as  making people feel relaxed in your presence.  Something which does require a great deal of thought.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Written by Dean O'Brien

January 18, 2011 at 10:28 am

Posted in Picturing the Body

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Working at a hospital people and communication skills are vital and something I can apply to photography although the situations are different.

    Chris Alford

    January 24, 2011 at 4:56 pm


Leave a Reply

