Dean O'Brien's Blog

Picturing the Body: Life drawing with Paul Wright

with one comment

When I was at college just over two years ago it was compulsory to do art one day a week.  Many students objected at the time as it never involved picking up a camera.  Although this consisted of drawing, painting and making collages etc..it was beneficial to photography.  It did make me look at things in a different way.  In fact I rather enjoyed it as it was a break from the norm.

Well today saw me and the rest of the ‘picturing the body’ group travelling to Leicester to do life drawing under the instruction of artist Paul Wright.  Yes its pretty much self explanatory.  Drawing a real model.  Once the easel was set up it was a case of completing different tasks which were opening up our visual awareness.  This ranged from looking at composition and tone to looking and shape and form.  Now I’m the first to admit that I am no artist.  I do believe that I have an artistic eye (on the odd occasion) but when it comes to putting pencil to paper I’m not going to pretend that I am anything special.  However, Paul assured us that this was not about that.  There was not a right or wrong way of doing this.  This was about us realising how we look at things.  After completing the various tasks I did feel that I had learnt a lot about the way in which I view subjects.  Something which I will no doubt continue to use and incorporate into my practice.

So today was a really beneficial day in many ways.  When looking at things to shoot my ideas can become stagnant.  This has opened my mind up to be more creative.  To pre visualise more before I compose the image.

Anyway, must go as the phones ringing….It could be that bloke Saatchi

Written by Dean O'Brien

January 25, 2011 at 6:05 pm

Posted in Picturing the Body

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Glad you enjoyed it Dean – we’ll comeback to this next week when we look at building the frame with 5×4 cameras.

    If Charles Saatchi does call then say hello from me.

    Jonathan Worth

    January 25, 2011 at 7:30 pm


Leave a Reply

