Dean O'Brien's Blog

Picturing the Body: Task 3 ‘Nude and Naked’

with 2 comments

When I was set this task to I was to make  a study of myself and somebody else.  Due to the intimate nature of this project I decided to use my girlfriend Rebecca.  Rebecca is quite shy and yet has an amazing beauty which I adore.  Intimate images such as this require trust and this is why she was my only choice of subject.  These images had to have ‘feeling’ and this was not something that I could achieved with a model who was sourced through the internet.

Taking information on board which I received the week before at Paul Wright’s studio I was aware of looking at where the light falls.  I was also considering shape, tone and form.  Composition was in my mind but was not a major priority.  I decided to shoot with Fuji FP100 polaroids first on a Hasselblad to experiment.  Then I decided to shoot again on the Hasselblad but using black & white film.  Again, this was about experimentation.  Finally I shot a range of colour digital images.

 

Written by Dean O'Brien

February 1, 2011 at 12:02 am

Posted in Picturing the Body

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello Dean was there much difference in the contrast and lighting with the the polaroids? Were the vertical blinds added to the composition by chance?

    Chris Alford

    February 20, 2011 at 3:00 pm

  2. The vertical blinds were just there in the bedroom Chris and added to the overall composition of the shot.

    As for the polaroids they were virtually exactly the same. Superb quality from them

    Dean O'Brien

    February 20, 2011 at 5:00 pm


Leave a Reply

