Dean O'Brien's Blog

Picturing the Body: Task 3 ‘Nude and Naked’ (A Study of Myself)

with one comment

As a photographer I am naturally more comfortable the other side of the camera.  I don’t think it s a confidence things but more the fact that I find other people more interesting than myself.  The shots below were taken at different times of the day.  I did not want the set to be ‘uniformed’ so to speak or have a studio feel.  I wanted to achieve that ‘loose’ feel using only natural light.  Back to basics but it was a great learning curve.  Looking at the very basics of lighting an image and taking into account all that is available to you.  Shape, tone, form and looking at where the light was coming from.

Unlike someone like Cindy Sherman I would not want to make a career of taking my own image.  Although self portraiture is something that I would like to look into further at some point.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Written by Dean O'Brien

February 3, 2011 at 8:43 pm

Posted in Picturing the Body

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looking at this slideshow my favourite is the image of the hand with shadows falling like the pattern of a zebra.

    Chris Alford

    February 20, 2011 at 3:02 pm


Leave a Reply

