Dean O'Brien's Blog

Creative Workshop 4: The Clothed Body (outdoor shoot)

with one comment

After completing the weeks previous tasks I was growing more adventurous and creative with what I wanted to produce within an image.  The challenge with thinking about narrative within my work was something that added some colour to the task.

The previous week I had taken images of Rebecca and I was looking more at the ‘nude versus naked’ view of the body.  Expanding on this I now decided to shoot outdoors with her with the latest task which wants me to look at ‘the clothed body’.  I wanted to work basically with whatever was in the vicinity to the subject.  I never planned to use the trees but when I saw them and the way that the light was pouring onto the subject at certain angles I used this to my advantage.  This helped to create an almost enchanted, fairytale feel to the images.  I know that in future when I am shooting subjects that I will look and be prepared to use whatever is at hand.

As with many of the tasks on this module this has brought me closer to my practice.  I’m keeping things simple by only using available light, prime lens, light meter and a tripod.  Nothing else.  I am learning to keep the subject engaged and relaxed.  The prime lens means that I have to move around and position myself.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Written by Dean O'Brien

February 12, 2011 at 12:14 am

Posted in Picturing the Body

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like the image of Rebecca where she is slight leaning back mimicking the shape of a tree with moss covered all over.

    Chris Alford

    February 20, 2011 at 3:13 pm


Leave a Reply

