Dean O'Brien's Blog

My first image being used in a professional capacity

with 2 comments

Being a photographer I know that like many others we all long for the day when one of our images will get used at some point in an official capacity.  That day came for me last week when Host gallery got in touch and wanted to used an image I took to promote their forthcoming seminar at the Format Festival 2011 ‘On the Concrete’.  On the Concrete is a two-day seminar on Street Photography in Derby 1-2 April 2011.  Host Gallery and Foto8 have always held some superb seminars (two of which I have attended) so I was more than honoured to let them use the image.

As with any photographer, all I wanted was crediting for the image which they have done.  This has encouraged me to push on further with getting my images out there.  This image was promoted and discovered through the use of social media.  The image was first shown online when I wrote a blog post about a previous seminar which I had attended  Here After that I tweeted a link via Twitter so that others could view the blog post which I had written online.  Through this web of links I managed to get the image and post seen.  Using social media to promote my work has proved to beneficial and I am going to continue to research this further.

For more information on the Format festival 2011 click on the image below

Written by Dean O'Brien

February 15, 2011 at 5:18 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello Dean I like how you explain how this image was used through twitter as it shows how twitter can help make important links or contacts. I still have not got a twitter account as I wouldn’t have to continually ‘tweet’ about photographic wise.

    I’ve been putting into practise what I’ve leant from the ‘Mac Os X Snow leopard made easy’ book by Kate Binder. Getting really familiar with my Mac Pro each week to great practical benefit.

    Chris Alford

    February 20, 2011 at 3:18 pm

  2. Whenever I create a new blog post Chris I announce it via Twitter. This then enables my followers to come and view the post often complete with images. They then (if they like what they see) will in turn re-tweet it to their followers. This brings me in traffic to view my images from all over the world

    Dean O'Brien

    February 20, 2011 at 4:57 pm


Leave a Reply

