Dean O'Brien's Blog

Picturing the Body: Final Proposal

leave a comment »

After completing all of the tasks set before me the time has now come for me to create a final unique piece.  I have taken on board all of the information which I have learnt in the previous weeks from the tasks set.  It was not an easy choice.  Although I loved the use of muted colours in the woods my ideas had fluctuated between portraits and body shots.  However, I have decided to produce a close up of a body part.  This piece will fall more into the artistic category rather than an image with a deeper sense of narrative.  It is also an area which I have not previously explored so it will be challenging in that respect.

The final will be shot using medium format film in black and white.  I intend to print the final piece on 16×12 fibre based paper.  I want to develop and print the image at home using a home made darkroom.  I am using this method to add a more personal touch to the whole image making process and to show a certain degree of technical skill.  The print will then be professionally mounted by a local company who have been mounting images for over 100 years.

Written by Dean O'Brien

March 10, 2011 at 5:12 pm

Posted in Picturing the Body

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

