Dean O'Brien's Blog

Day 3: Working at the Coventry Telegraph 6/4/11

leave a comment »

I’m getting in the swing of things here now and was given my first shooting assignment.  Nothing too dramatic but a great experience none the less.  I am to head down to the Coventry Telegraph front office to photograph a cheque being handed over for Macmillan Cancer.  As it is nice and sunny the shoot is to take place outside.  Photographer James Balfour was on hand to help me with the shoot and advise me on what is required from shoots such as this.

One important thing to bear in mind is to not get too close so that the bank details on the cheque are visible.  I also needed to make sure that nobody blinked when I took the shots and that everyones eyes were open and looking towards me.  We check the images over in the viewfinder and agree that I captured what was asked for.  Next step was to get the images off the card and onto the computer.  A certain procedure has to be followed here so that the images are tagged correctly.

Later in the afternoon I pair up with Joe Bailey and we head over to Holbrooks to photograph a young lad named Jake who has cerebral palsy.  His family are trying to raise £40,000 to send him to America for treatment.  I stand back and watch how when entering the room Joe decides on how best to do the shoot.  Yet again, people skills play a massive part in doing these kind of shoots and Joe seems to build up an instant rapport with the subjects.

Whilst Joe was shooting I decided to film a short video clip.  Over the next few days I want to try and shoot a few more short video clips to bring the posts to life.

Written by Dean O'Brien

April 6, 2011 at 5:34 pm

Leave a Reply

