Dean O'Brien's Blog

Day 5: Working at the Coventry Telegraph 8/4/11

leave a comment »

Well the main focus today is that I have had my first picture published in the Coventry Telegraph.  On the fifth day of starting my placement here I open the paper to see my image on page 22.  Obviously my target is to get a cover shot before my time here ends but its  a great achievement all the same.

To see an image which I took, actually in print has really boosted my confidence and inspired me to pursue working in a paper as a possible career option.  I say ‘possible’ career option because there are not a great deal of jobs going in this field.  What interests me the most is that every day is different.  One minute we are out at a local school and the next we are making our way to photograph damage to a hospital where a car had driven through the main doors.

Its still early days here at the paper I know but it really has changed my outlook.  I, like many others don’t know what the future holds when I leave university but I want to give it my best shot and see where it takes me.  Working here is an opportunity that I really want to make the most of.

Written by Dean O'Brien

April 8, 2011 at 8:52 pm

Leave a Reply

