Dean O'Brien's Blog

350mc: Library Task – Three Degrees of Separation

with 2 comments

This weeks task involved looking at ‘Branding the Post-Feminist Self: Girls Video Production and YouTube.

The written artefact by Sarah Banet-Weiser made interesting reading in relation to the YouTube video which I managed to locate and watch.  It brought to question the whole argument of how the media is feeding the minds of young people.  Years ago this could be managed and contained.  Now, with the internet it is virtually impossible.  Even if children are restricted to not playing music which is sexually suggestive, they all have earphones dangling from the school blouses which almost seems to be an integrated part of the uniform.

After reading this piece and watching the video I decided travel the route of seeing what else had been written about music influencing children.  I managed to locate a great written piece complete with video HERE.

So who do we blame?  Britney Spears?  Lady Ga Ga?  Kylie?  Shakira?……..Yes, the list goes on.  I remember back in the 70’s when dance group Hot Gossip were given a ticking off for gyrating their hips in a sexually suggestive manner on Top of the Tops.  Oh yes, times have indeed changed. I know that I sound like someones Grandfather saying ‘Ooh in my day you were lucky if you caught a glimpse of a ladies ankle’.

After looking into this I then decided to look into the lyrics of a song which is very catchy and common with young girls in particular.  ‘My Humps’ by Black Eyed Peas.

They say I’m really sexy,
The boys they wanna sex me.
They always standing next to me,
Always dancing next to me,
Tryin’ a feel my hump, hump.
Lookin’ at my lump, lump.
You can look but you can’t touch it,
If you touch it I’ma start some drama,
You don’t want no drama,
No, no drama, no, no, no, no drama
So don’t pull on my hand boy,
You ain’t my man, boy,
I’m just tryn’a dance boy,
And move my hump.

I don’t have any answer for a solution to all this ‘kids growing up to early’ bit.  What I do know is that the top people involved in media need to dig deep and clean up their act.  There are so many slang words out there now so it’s vitally impossible to say ‘Oh, you can’t use this word or that word in a song’.  It would be impossible but I think the songwriters need to look at themselves.  Years ago people would vote with their feet and simply boycott buying the songs, but as the people buying this music ‘is’ the kids themselves then that kind of rules that out!  Yes, this is one of the bad things about the internet.  ‘Everything’ is available to anyone with a few clicks on a keyboard…..

On reflection this task has made me look at other peoples work and break it down.  To look into it a bit deeper and maybe even take it into a new direction if that is how I see it.

Anyway, take a gander at the video below and make your own mind up….

Written by Dean O'Brien

October 19, 2011 at 6:22 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very interesting post Dean,oh my where I have been? I had no idea Black eyed peas produce lyrics like that – shameful! Two of my short breaks children like them and with their autism they are even more impressionable and influenced!I took one child to see The Wanted and was shocked how provocative some of their dance moves and lyrics were and the audience they were playing to were very young girls!!My eldest 19,is crazy about Anthony and the Johnsons and he gave a speech in a music festival about respecting people especially women the speech was very moving and brought my son to tears,something needs to be done in the music industry.Children are very impressionable and copy at a very young age and sadly the whole retail industry doesn’t help either selling sexy underwear to very young children what parent in their right mind would buy such things?But that’s another post ha! Thank you for sharing this Becky

    becky

    October 19, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    • Thanks for engaging Becky. Yes, I agree that something needs to be done, although easier said than done. I suppose the more that this is highlighted and brought to peoples attention the better.

      Dean O'Brien

      October 19, 2011 at 10:19 pm


Leave a Reply

