Dean O'Brien's Blog

Host Gallery: ‘One Hundred & Forty Characters’ exhibition

with one comment

It only seem like five minutes ago that I was standing in Chris Floyd’s studio on a very hot summers day.  I had contacted Chris and agreed to take part in his Great Twitter Portrait Project.  Many others, in fact 139 had agreed to do the same.  What started off as a very original idea by Chris for a project has snowballed into something much bigger than I think he could had imagined.  After a fair amount of well earned publicity, there was a poster produced, website and now an exhibition. The exhibition was something which I feel the project needed and I was looking forward to seeing the complete works in its entirety. This was to be held at the newly refurbished Host Gallery and when the RSVP invite arrived I planned my trip down.

I arrived in London earlier on in the day and as usual contacted Peter Dench  to see if he was up for a few pre exhibition drinks.  Peter wasn’t available until around 5pm so this gave me the chance to catch up with fellow photographer ‘ Magda Rakita whom I had met at Perpignan earlier in the year.  As the day drew on I  met Peter and after a few glasses of wine at Pizza Express we headed up to the venue.  We arrived 6pm on the dot and in true Dench style headed straight to where the drinks were being served.  Free wine and beer was provided for those in attendance.  It was great to see so many familiar faces there.  Exhibitions such as this are also great places for networking and I managed to talk to a few people about my current project in Ukraine.  Jon Levy along with Chris had done a fantastic job.  The images that graced the walls looked superb.

So what next for the project?  Rumour has it that there could be a book….

You can read more about the whole project HERE and grab yourself one of the limited edition posters.  Big thanks goes out to Chris and Jon Levy who managed to ‘host’ (boom boom..see what I did there?) a fantastic evening for all who attended.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Written by Dean O'Brien

November 4, 2011 at 5:21 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looked like a great night Dean wish I’d been able to go too.

    Jonathan Worth

    November 16, 2011 at 8:19 pm


Leave a Reply

