Dean O'Brien's Blog

351mc Photography and Narrative: Editing down images

leave a comment »

After numerous trips to Ukraine gathering sound and images for my project then time has come to start to put this all together.  To start to make sense of what I have.  It  sounds simple I know.  You take images, choose your favourites, so what’s the problem?  The problem starts with what you plan to do with them.  I want to create an exhibition, various photo films covering the different subjects, a book and possibly even a magazine article.  Yes, I can see it within the pages of The Sunday times magazine one Sunday morning.  How lovely would that be?  Well the images the suit the photo film may not be suitable for the book and vice versa.  So first of all I needed to know what I wanted this selection of images for.

With the help and advice from Matt Johnston and Jonathan Worth it was suggested that we tackle this head on.  It was decided that I needed to bring in all my images, spread them all out and start to make them into short stories.  We decided to clear the huge magnetic white board in the Photography Department, create a time lapse video recording all the events, and start to divide the images up.  I can’t remember the last time I held so many actual ‘physical’ prints that I had taken.  This was one of the benefits of shooting in film.

What was the verdict I hear you ask?  A short narrative of 21 images was created which was then also re-arranged into a book.  Obviously over time this may change slightly, but the outcome was a leap forward towards getting the project ‘out there’.  The hands-on advice from both Jonathan and Matt was beneficial.  This was not just about the images, but about how they flowed, the colour palette, shapes contained with the images and how one leads onto the other.

So where do I go from here?  Next stop is to contact a few well recommended people in the industry and ask if they are prepared to look at my edit.  I am surprised how far the project has come in such a short space of time, although the planning had been in place for quite a while.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Written by Dean O'Brien

November 26, 2011 at 1:15 am

Leave a Reply

