Dean O'Brien's Blog

352mc Professional Photographic Practice: The Russians…A film about photographer Oleg Videnin

leave a comment »

Inspiration comes to me from everywhere.  Magazines, books, bus tickets or pattern on sofas.  Yes, that trigger can come from anything.  More often than not though it comes from fellow artists.  I am interested in ‘their’ vision and how ‘they’ see things.  Sometimes everyday situations need a fresh set of eyes.  When Oleg Videnin picked up his camera and wandered around Russia making images, he became those eyes.  He took portraits of ordinary people, those normally ignored in day to day life.

This made me think a little more about my own project in Ukraine.  Although I am documenting the marriage agencies, I also want to expand into a couple of different areas.  Looking more at other social issues and problems.

Although I own the full version of this film, I came across this trailer which looks at Oleg and his work.  To many, the technical quality of the filming may leave a little to be desired, but it is the content that makes the film for me.  It is about the journey he makes and the people that he meets.  Shooting casual encounters with only the minimum of equipment.

Written by Dean O'Brien

January 5, 2012 at 2:26 pm

Leave a Reply

