Dean O'Brien's Blog

352mc Professional Photographic Practice: Research in the community

leave a comment »

Although my project is based in Ukraine, my research is not specifically based within the country.  It is the people who are the important and it is their stories that matter.  The are many Ukrainians living in the UK so I decided to search the  Association of Ukrainians of Great Britain to check where my nearest branch was.  Luckily for me there is a branch in Coventry and I have made contact with them regarding my project.  They informed me that there are around 300 Ukrainians (that make themselves known to the association) living in Coventry, with the majority being second and third generation.

Hopefully this is going to give my project the strength it needs and help me to get a deeper insight into those Ukrainians who have come to the UK and made it their home.  I’m also hoping that someone there might be able to teach me Russian!

For people doing similar projects I would well recommend trying similar things.  Projects such as this are about trying all the doors until one opens.  I know that I have nothing to lose by getting involved with the AUGB and everything to gain.  I am also planning to offer my services there as a photographer (for free) if the association needs any photography for their website etc…

Written by Dean O'Brien

January 22, 2012 at 5:33 pm

Leave a Reply

