Dean O'Brien's Blog

352mc Professional Photographic Practice: Sample book produced…

leave a comment »

As part of my project looking into marriage agencies I am looking at producing  a book.  The idea being that the images will form the narrative, and help to tell the subjects story.

Editing down images for the book has been a tough task and I feel that there are still gaps that need to be filled.  There is no immediate rush but I want to get the wheels in motion, so I have decided to produce a sample book so I can see how the real article will look.  The other reason was that whenever I was meeting other photographers or artists, and showing them my book edit, I was having to physically lay out all the images on a table.  Producing a ‘sample’ book is a great way to show creatives where I am with the project.  It also helps them and me to see how the images flow in book format.

What I plan to do is take the book around to my lecturers and mentor and allow them to write comments in the book.  Much like how someone might write on a contact sheet, they can do the same within the pages of the book, if for example an image needs a tighter crop.  I see the sample book as  a workbook.  Work in progress, not a finished piece.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Written by Dean O'Brien

January 27, 2012 at 10:01 pm

Leave a Reply

