Dean O'Brien's Blog

354MC Professional Practice Portfolio: Degree show publication update

leave a comment »

The book seems to moving along now and I had a view today of how it will appear.  I visited Rick earlier,  who is responsible for putting it all together.

First of all I had to supply Rick with tiffs of the three images that I want to appear on my section within the publication.  Next, I had to supply my artist statement which will appear just below my name on the first page.  In the lower left corner on the first page, my email and mobile phone number will be printed.  This should give the publication a very clean, contemporary look.  Below is a rough idea of the layout of my four pages.

As the book will be square (210mm x 201mm), this suits my images and rather then have them on top of each other, I feel the having one image per page is more aesthetically pleasing.  I am still undecided as to how much space to have around the image.  Should I place the image central (with an even white border all around) or more closer to the top edge of the page leaving a larger white margin at the bottom?  These are only minor things but I want this publication to be as professional as possible.

Written by Dean O'Brien

January 27, 2012 at 5:22 pm

Leave a Reply

