Dean O'Brien's Blog

352MC Professional Photographic Practice: Networking with fellow students..

leave a comment »

When I first starting researching into my project in Ukraine I sort of figured that I would be on my own.  I mean that in the sense that I had never met a Ukrainian in Coventry before.  Therefore I figured that my research would be based actually in the country itself and Ukrainians living there.  However, last week I attended the  (AUGB)  Association of Ukrainians in Great Britain.  Whilst there, members  recommended that I seek out fellow student at Coventry University, Myroslava Terlecky .  Myroslava, has a superb knowledge of the history that surrounds the country, and like myself she is a strong believer in networking through blogs and twitter.

Whilst meeting up with Myroslava we discussed politics, corruption and the genocidal famine that took place between 1932-1933 (but is rarely discussed outside of Ukraine) called Holodomor.  Knowing the background of issues which surround people who are wanting to leave the country is vital.  If my own project is to succeed and grow, then I need a greater understanding of my subjects and what they and their families have been through.

Although I have a good basic understanding of Ukraine and the people, I am hoping that at some point I will be able to collaborate with Myroslava in the future.  The reason I am writing this post I suppose is to stress the importance of networking with others. We all know how important it is when someone looks at your work with a fresh pair of eyes.  I want to keep myself open to new ideas..

Written by Dean O'Brien

January 28, 2012 at 12:40 am

Leave a Reply

