Dean O'Brien's Blog

352mc Professional Photographic Practice: Research into photographer Oleg Videnin

leave a comment »

Earlier on this month I posted a video Here which I found to be quite inspirational to my current project in Ukraine.  It documented the work of Russian photographer Oleg Videnin.

I recently found out that Oleg had recently produced a book of his work.  There was a problem however.  The only place to order the book was a website in Russian that had a very complicated ordering system, and to top it all off, would not ship abroad.  I was in a bit of a dilema.  I trawled all then usual places such as ebay and Amazon but there were no copies anywhere.  I then sent Wayne Ford a message asking if he could help or had any suggestion where I could source a copy.  Wayne, as many know is a hive of knowledge when it comes to photo books.  He recommended that I contact the publisher direct or the photographer.  This I did and Oleg Videnin sent me a signed copy for free.

My research into photographers who base their work around social issues in Ukraine and Russia continues.  I fully understand, that as a westerner I see things in a different way to those who have grown up within these surroundings.  But, I honestly believe that my viewpoint is equally important.  This book is a fantastic documentation of ‘real people’, and something which I hope that I can aspire to in the future.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Written by Dean O'Brien

January 28, 2012 at 11:09 am

Leave a Reply

