Dean O'Brien's Blog

352mc Professional Photographic Practice: Research into exhibition frames…

leave a comment »

As my degree show draws nearer the time has to come to start thinking about presentation.  How to display my final body of work.

Last year I travelled to Dublin to see the exhibition by Dana Popa called ‘not natasha’.  Dana shoots in a square colour format like myself, so I decided to look back at images which I had taken of her exhibition and see how she decided to present her work.  I’m not looking to copy, but draw inspiration from another artists ideas.

The biggest dilemma facing me was what shape to have the frames. Do I go for a square image in a square frame or square image in a more portrait shaped frame, similar to how Dana displayed her work below?

In situations such as this there is only one thing to do, and that is go to the source.  I needed to seek the advice of professionals.  People who deal solely in the framing and presentation of images.  I have decided to place my trust in a local company for the framing and mounting of my work.  They have been framing images, art work and offering a bespoke framing service since 1870.  So after a short journey I arrive at the framers with a selection of my images in hand.  We spend a fair amount of time discussing how best to present my work from what type of frame, to the colour of mount board to be used.  The people here talk with passion about their business, something which is a rare quality these days.

Then there are the fixings.  Yes, long gone are the days of ‘wire on the back which hangs loosely on a nail’.  I have decided to go for ‘mirror plates’ which aesthetically give the framed image a very professional, not to mention secure appearance.

Sizing is yet to be decided but I am considering a black frame, 14mm wide, 16″ x 20″ with the image size being approximately 11″ square.  This should fit nicely within the frame and allow room for the image to breath.  The image will be placed inside a bevel mounted aperture within a creme coloured card.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Written by Dean O'Brien

February 11, 2012 at 4:18 pm

Leave a Reply

