Dean O'Brien's Blog

352mc Professional Photographic Practice: The Importance of keeping informed with local news

leave a comment »

One of the problems which was always going to be difficult with working on a project in Ukraine was keeping up to date with news.  Although I regularly tune into Russia Today (Sky 512) it only gives me small snippets of what is happening in Ukraine.

Whenever I am in Kiev I always keep well informed by reading the Kyiv Post.  The problem is that when I return to the UK I cannot purchase a copy here.  Although online subscriptions are available I much prefer a hard copy.  After exchanging a fair few emails with the admin offices at the paper I eventually organised a copy of the paper to be posted to me each week.  This did come at a cost though.  $199 dollars does seem a small fortune in this ever growing ‘paper free’ world, but I see it as money well spent.  Investing in the project.

The more knowledge that I have about the day to day happenings in Ukraine the more I know that I will be able to relate to my subjects.  One thing that was pointed out to me by many Ukrainians who I am working with at present, is how much I actually know about the day to day problems in the country.  This is down to the fact that I make a deliberate attempt to find out about them.  To engage with my subjects at their level and understand the reasons why they are joining the marriage agencies.

Written by Dean O'Brien

February 14, 2012 at 3:45 pm

Leave a Reply

