Dean O'Brien's Blog

352mc Professional Photographic Practice: Research into image printing

leave a comment »

Last week I spent a great deal of time looking into frames and how best to present my work for my final degree show.  This week I am looking into how best to have the actual images printed. Yes, I’m confused.  Confused about inkjet, C Type, Giclee…..It goes on and on.  So I decided to start at the bottom and order some inkjet prints online.

However, one mistake that I did make was selecting ‘auto correct’ for the images which were being submitted for print online.  In all honesty, I was not  fully aware of what ‘auto correct’ meant when ordering prints online.  However,  it did what many would expect it to do.  It enhanced all the colours which over saturated skin tones giving an almost yellow glow.  This was not what I wanted and when I placed another order two days later I was more pleased with the images which I had corrected myself prior to ordering.

This is all trial and error at the moment in preparation for the ‘real thing’ so to speak.  Next week I travel to the Printspace in London to look at how to edit and prepare images prior to printing.  Something which will have my undivided attention.

Written by Dean O'Brien

February 14, 2012 at 6:23 pm

Leave a Reply

