Dean O'Brien's Blog

352mc Professional Photographic Practice: Taking images for professional practice

leave a comment »

One of the first thing that I was taught when I started at university was to keep taking images.  In fact, I remember Jonathan worth setting me a task whereby I was to set a one hour timer on my phone and every time it went off, I had to take an image of wherever I was.  I never got it at first but after while I understood the reason behind it.  It was to make me more visually aware.  Aware of things that are right in front of my face that I am not seeing as such.  It was also to make me shoot more often.  In a variety of situations and environments.

When we started having guest speakers come to the university to talk I saw this as an opportunity to improve on my shooting skills.  Shooting without flash in dark conditions, can be a real test and I soon learnt about bumping up the iso and shooting wide open.

Since shooting for the university I have shot David Campbell, Simon Roberts, Chino Otsuka, Harry Hardie, Jon Levy, Mike Lusmore, Suky Best, Tom Hunter, Peter Dench and more recently Caroline Molloy to name but a few.  These speakers covered various university modules including Picbod and Phonar.

By continuing to shoot guest speakers, my skills, both technical and social will continue to improve.  Professional photographic practice….. quite literally.

Written by Dean O'Brien

February 15, 2012 at 6:05 pm

Leave a Reply

