Dean O'Brien's Blog

352mc Professional Photographic Practice: Research – Kich Gorodok + Gorelovka by Olya Ivanova

leave a comment »

Books continue to be a huge driving force for my project in Ukraine.  Especially as I am at present working on putting my own together.  My mentor Harry Hardie suggested that maybe I place two peoples stories within one book.  You could then start at either end by turning the book upside down, and deciding whose story you wanted to read first.  Simples.

Last week I came across a book ‘Kich Gorodok + Gorelovka’ by Olya Ivanova.  It contains two stories, and as described above it gives you a choice of where to start it from.  At one end the book starts with a selection of portraits of people living around Kich Gorodok in Russia.  However turn the book upside down and you start again with a selection of environmental images and portraits from Gorelovka, a small village in the middle of taiga 800km from Novosibirsk.

What I find most impressive is that the people contained within this book are very normal and ordinary.  Locals who seem happy to have their photo taken and being given the chance to show outsiders ‘their world’.  Being offered a platform to tell people a little about themselves.  More interesting than those people we see far too often in books who have something, (maybe too much) to say.

Although I do own a physical copy of the book, I was equally impressed with the Vimeo video below which managed to give those considering purchasing, an insight into the images it contains.  Something I may well consider doing to promote my own book when the time is ready.

Written by Dean O'Brien

February 21, 2012 at 10:37 am

Leave a Reply

