Dean O'Brien's Blog

352mc Professional Photographic Practice: ‘Destination Unknown’ update

with one comment

Its been a little while since I posted a report on how my Ukraine project ‘Destination Unknown’ is coming on, so I thought I may as well do a brief update.

Next Monday I fly back out to Kiev to continue shooting my main two subjects Pete and Katya.  Although I have a fair few images of these two subjects, there are still blanks that need filling in regarding the narrative.  Although ‘I’ understand their story, I need to produce the images which help to tell their stories in a more simplified way, especially to those who may be looking at my work for the first time.

The project is going to end up as a display of ten portraits at my final end of year degree show here in Coventry.  Five images of each subject.  Then I hope to produce a photo book which will tell both stories in a balanced way.  I am also planning to launch a Kickstarter appeal for funds so that I can go out to Ukraine for at least a month.  The aim being that I can travel around Ukraine and document more peoples stories and their search for love through an agency.

Due the bad news of Kodak coming to an end there seems to have been a stampede of people buying up all the stocks of Kodak Portra 400.  I require 50 rolls for this next trip, so I was having severe problems sourcing a supplier who had stock.  In the end I managed to get some but it was touch and go for a while.  Again, I will be shooting 6×6 medium format colour and taking a Canon S100 digital camera as back up.  Normally I would take the 5D MKII as back up, but the extra weight is far too much to carry as I discovered on my last trip.

These are exciting times for me as I draw to the end of my degree.  The project will continue long after university, but for my degree show I need to finalise the narrative of my two subjects.  So that when the images are on display, they make sense to the viewer.

Written by Dean O'Brien

March 18, 2012 at 5:57 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sounds fab dean. looking forward to the realised project (for the short time being). have fun in Kiev!

    jaskirtdhaliwal

    March 18, 2012 at 6:27 pm


Leave a Reply

