Dean O'Brien's Blog

354MC Professional Practice Portfolio: Coventry #Picbod exhibition

with 3 comments

With my own end of year degree show gaining on me I am trying to get to see as many exhibitions as I can. This often involves a train trip to London.  However, on Thursday evening it was the opening night of the #Picbod exhibition here in Coventry.  An opportunity not to be missed.  The previous year I was part of the #Picbod module so I knew to expect some quality work.

Held in a basement which had seen better days, the team did an excellent job of converting it into somewhere worthy to show their images.  Not an easy task from what I was told.  They managed to pull in a large crowd who took their time browsing around the many twists and turns in the basement.  From images hung with clothes pegs and string, to books placed on a table to be glanced through, the creators of this work had been as inventive as possible.

I’m no expert on reviewing exhibitions but I know what I like when I see it.  There was some excellent work on display, with some very creative thought placed on making many of the images.  Among those images, were some submitted by Jonathan Worth, Peter Dench and Jason Tilley.  It was great to see these side by side with images created by students from the #Picbod module.  Although there were some great pieces on display, my favourite work was by Dicken Richards.

What I feel made this a success was the commitment of those involved.  This was something that the students themselves had arranged.  I got the impression that this may well be an annual event, so this could be ‘the‘ event to look out for next year.  I just have this feeling that they may need somewhere slightly larger..

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Written by Dean O'Brien

March 18, 2012 at 11:50 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. HI Dean, I just think it’s about having the time to let those kind of meatings happen But I guess time is the precious thing that we dont get very often.

    I had a bit of a writing block on where I’m supposed to go with this blog but I’ve got so many portraits that I might just keep telling the stories that go with them.

    How’s the final project comming along?

    Jason

    thebeautifulpeopleblog

    March 18, 2012 at 8:32 pm

    • Yes I think a portrait with a short story might be the way to go.

      My final major project is going ok. I’m back out to Kiev in 8 days to continue working with the two main subjects and basically to take more images to fill in some gaps to help the narrative develop.

      Dean O'Brien

      March 18, 2012 at 8:37 pm

      • Ok Dean, saw you photographic the other day, was going to ask how things going but you had gone by the time I’d come out of the dark room, Good luck in Kiev.

        Jason

        thebeautifulpeopleblog

        March 23, 2012 at 8:49 am


Leave a Reply

