Dean O'Brien's Blog

354MC Professional Practice Portfolio: Social media promotion for degree show

leave a comment »

As the degree show draws closer, Facebook and other forms of social media are proving vital tools in helping to spread the word.  I am making a habit of constantly adding images from my current project through Twitter and Facebook, letting people know that this is something which is alive and constantly developing.

I do have a fair few professional photographers and creatives on my Facebook, all of whom have ‘Liked’ the Exposure24 page and have been made aware of the forthcoming degree show.  I have managed to tweet or email them directly the exhibition opening times, and many have confirmed that the dates are in their diary.

I fully realise the importance of showing photographers and creatives how our projects are changing.  How they are only a starting point and something which is continuing to grow.  My own project, although started eight months ago, is really in its infancy and will develop far beyond anything which can be seen at the moment.  I see social media as a tool which is helping me to reach that target audience.

Written by Dean O'Brien

April 16, 2012 at 8:38 am

Leave a Reply

