Dean O'Brien's Blog

352mc Professional Photographic Practice: Editing down my images to the final ten

leave a comment »

Sometimes I think that taking images is the easy part.  It is the editing down that I find the most difficult.  After numerous trips to Ukraine I now have what I would class as a large selection of ‘usable’ images.  Images that I feel could make the final selection for my forthcoming exhibition.

I am intending to tell two peoples stories.  Katya from Ukraine and Pete from Winchester.  I have already selected one image for each subject, but I now need to select another four for each subject.  This is going to be quite a hard task, as the images need to form a narrative.  A narrative which tells the individuals story.

Once I get back to university next week I will bring in the selection of images and start the editing down process.  This will take place in the main photography room on the magnetic wall and I plan to film this and create a time lapse video.  I intend to use my lecturers and fellow students to help with the editing down process.  I am also hoping to travel down to London to see my mentor Harry Hardie with a tight selection of images.  Outside input and opinion is vital at this stage of the project.

Written by Dean O'Brien

April 20, 2012 at 9:30 am

Leave a Reply

