Dean O'Brien's Blog

352mc Professional Photographic Practice: New website and the opportunity to brand myself

leave a comment »

Since Apple have decided to cancel their web hosting I have been forced to have what one might call a ‘proper’ website.  In a way this is a good thing.  I had become lazy with Apple’s very easy ‘drag and drop’ system.  A module which I did with Mez Packer and Matt Johnston last year gave me a fair understanding of Dreamweaver and this was what I wanted to use to create the new site.  I used a former student from the university to help me build the site.

One thing that was wrong with my last site was that it showed me as a bit of a jack of all trades.  There were images of all descriptions from fashion to still life.   I needed to narrow these down.  Down to a selection of images which show the area of photography which I am trying to find work within.  To brand myself.

This new website has given me the opportunity to brand myself in a more professional way.  To show those who hit my site who I am and the kind of photography that I am into.  This way I stand a much better chance of getting work within this field.

I have decided on a very clean, contemporary look.  No ‘flash’ as I want the site to work on iPads, which is the tablet choice for many in the industry.  Something easy to work yourself around.  I know from my own experience that if a site is too over complicated I just switch off.

Obviously this will start to change and develop over time, but at least visitors to the site can see that I am targeting a specific field of photography.

Written by Dean O'Brien

April 21, 2012 at 7:03 pm

Leave a Reply

