Dean O'Brien's Blog

352mc Professional Photographic Practice: Editing down images with Jonathan Worth and Jason Tilley

leave a comment »

As I mentioned in an earlier post, it is the editing down of images that is proving to be the real challenge here.  Earlier today I went into university and took in quite a large selection of images.  These were then spread out across the table to be arranged to make some kind of sense I suppose.  Jonathan Worth, was on hand to help with the editing down along with Jason Tilley.

This was not just about placing pictures in an aesthetically  pleasing order, but more about the story that they were trying to tell.  And then there were questions that I had to ask myself.  Such as  ‘What exactly am I trying to say with these images?’.  What story am I trying to tell?  This is where I started to think about the Phonar module which I had completed in a previous module.  Photography and narrative.  Making stories with images.

As the project covers a number of issues there are so many different ways that I could go with this.  So many different stories to tell from the images.  What I needed to do was step back and look at what I want to say with these ten images that are going on display for the exhibition.

After a couple of hours things did start to fall into place and make some kind of visual sense.  Next step is to show the final edit to my mentor Harry Hardie for his much needed opinion.  The captioning of the images also still needs to be considered.

Written by Dean O'Brien

April 24, 2012 at 1:24 pm

Leave a Reply

