Dean O'Brien's Blog

352mc Professional Photographic Practice: Research – Photographer George Georgiou

leave a comment »

Just when I thought I have probably looked at almost every photographer who has done projects in Ukraine, my mentor Harry Hardie introduced me to the fantastic work of George Georgiou

George is someone who has completed many projects in former Soviet states.  His project ‘Transit Ukraine: After the Revolution’ contained the most moving images to me.  Scenes very familiar to what I have witnessed many times before, of people struggling with social and economic adjustment after gaining independence.  His project ‘The Shadow of the Bear’ again focusses its attention at those trying to adjust to social change in Ukraine and Georgia.

George has photographed extensively in the Balkans, Eastern Europe and Turkey for the last ten years, living and working in Serbia, Greece and for nearly five years in Istanbul. His work has focused on transition and identity and how people negotiate the space they find themselves in.

After looking at George’s work I emailed him and sent a link to my own work.  He took the time to reply and gave me some constructive advice of how to develop the project further including a link to another photographers work.

Written by Dean O'Brien

May 6, 2012 at 8:15 pm

Leave a Reply

