Dean O'Brien's Blog

352mc Professional Photographic Practice: One man and his dog..

leave a comment »

It was my third day in Kiev and I decided to use the services of a driver to take me to the ‘real’ Ukraine.  You can’t document a country from it’s capital.  There is far too much going on.  I asked them to take me to places that they would never normally take anyone.  The driver started to drive towards the East, where not much has changed since the days of Soviet rule.

It was not long before I came across a large pack of stray dogs.  A common problem here and in Russia.  In order to bring a halt to this problem Ukraine introduced the use of mobile incinerators to burn the stray dogs.  To clean up the streets for the forthcoming Euro 2012 games.  This was something which I had blogged about Here.

I got the driver to stop the car whilst I could take a few shots.  An old man appeared.  He managed to calm one of the dogs to pose for the picture.  A true gentleman.  He could not speak a word of English but his gesture said it all.  I managed to thank the man in Russian, got back into the car and continued my journey….

Written by Dean O'Brien

May 9, 2012 at 2:10 pm

Leave a Reply

