Dean O'Brien's Blog

352mc Professional Photographic Practice: Portfolio book

leave a comment »

After receiving feedback from mentor Harry Hardie at my last meeting with him it was suggested that I produce a portfolio book.  Something to compliment the forthcoming exhibition.  What worried me was the fact that the book is not ready yet, but Harry said that this would not be a problem.  All that I had to do was to state inside that this work is ongoing and that  it was ‘work in progress’.  He wanted me to do this to show off my many other images which will not be shown at the forthcoming exhibition.  To gain more interest in my project as a whole.

Harry had advised that I work with a writer to add some context.  I already knew Cameron Doherty from working at the Coventry Telegraph, so he was my first choice.  Luckily he agreed to write the context for me and I received this in time to add it to the book.  The finished book contains 46 pages (2 of which are context).

The books arrived a few days ago, as I paid extra for a fully tracked delivery service.  This ensured that I will have a copy ready for the official 352mc hand in on Wednesday.  I ordered six copies as I also promised to give one to Cameron (for writing the context). The remaining copies will be used to promote my ongoing project.

Written by Dean O'Brien

May 22, 2012 at 12:52 am

Leave a Reply

